Retired Awards

ARENA Legacy Award

The ARENA Legacy Award honors the award recipients as well as the legacy of the Applied Research Ethics National Association, the membership division of PRIM&R from 1986 to 2006. The ALA is awarded to individuals who embody and foster professional leadership, education, and mentoring. This award was retired in 2020.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1996 to honor the exceptional accomplishments of deserving PRIM&R members. Recipients have made a significant impact in the field of research ethics and have promoted the purpose and ideals of the organization through writing, teaching, or research. This award was retired in 2020.

Founders Award

In 2005, PRIM&R was honored to recognize the notable achievements of four individuals who played critical roles in the founding of both PRIM&R and ARENA. Their leadership, dedication, and wisdom were, and continue to be, instrumental in our growth and success.

Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Research Ethics

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals or groups who have made significant and sustained contributions to the development and/or dissemination of the ethical principles that govern research by way of their scholarship, administration, leadership, or mentoring. This designation was retired in 2020.

Pillars of PRIM&R

The Pillar of PRIM&R designation recognizes individuals who were integral to PRIM&R's founding and early growth, and who provided exemplary service and uncommon commitment to PRIM&R’s values and mission during the organization’s formative years. This designation was retired in 2021.